A living bereavement.

A few years ago a grandparent used this phrase to me and it has since been used by many people, it sums up exactly what it feels like to be denied contact with our grandchildren.

As with any bereavement there is a process that takes place the 5 stages of grief.

1st stage is one of denial and feelings of total isolation. When we experience the acute pain of loss it is easier to think it hasn’t really happened, it is our defense mechanism to protect us.

2nd stage is feelings of anger. We are angry that this has happened to us.

3rd stage is bargaining. We need to try and regain control so we go through the, ‘if only’ scenario.

4th stage is depression, of course we feel very sad and low.

5th stage is acceptance when we reach the place where we allow ourselves to grief as and when we need to, and to accept help and support from others. Hopefully we can then allow ourselves some peace and calm.


About Jane

Jane setup Bristol Grandparent Support Group in 2007 after a string of incidents led to the loss of contact with her Grand Daughter.

View all Jane Posts


Get the Latest Blog Updates & Newsletter


This contact form collects your First Name, Last Name & Email address, this is so I can reply to your enquiry in a fast, secure & efficient manor. For more information on how these details are used please refer to our updated Privacy Policy.