What is grief and  how do we work with it.

As you know unjustified estrangement is often referred to a living bereavement, consequently we go through the grieving process.

There are seven stages of grief.

  • Shock and denial. This is a state of disbelief and numbed feelings. There are so  many different emotions at this stage. Mourning, sadness, confusion, discomfort.
  • Pain and guilt. The pain felt is unimaginable and unbearable, you may feel remorse and  guilt, the if only stage.
  • Anger and bargaining. The why me? Resentment.
  • Depression. it is at this stage that ‘friends’ will tell you to move on! The sadness is all encompassing, the reality of the loss comes to the for. You feel crushed.
  • The upward turn.  Adjustment to your loss, and the depression should lift slightly. You can become a bit  stronger and motivated.
  • Reconstruction and working through. You begin to build your life without that loved one.
  • Acceptance and hope. Acceptance doesn’t necessarily mean instant happiness, but you will begin  to find a way forward,  grief will have changed you but you  can see the forward path.You will find joy in your life again.

Always remember you don’t have to face this alone there are numerous groups to help you and remember above all.

Grief is love, with nowhere to go.




About Jane

Jane setup Bristol Grandparent Support Group in 2007 after a string of incidents led to the loss of contact with her Grand Daughter.

View all Jane Posts


Get the Latest Blog Updates & Newsletter


This contact form collects your First Name, Last Name & Email address, this is so I can reply to your enquiry in a fast, secure & efficient manor. For more information on how these details are used please refer to our updated Privacy Policy.